• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Car Game Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 14
I'm very new to SC2 editing and want to start off in the right direction. Sometimes early choices make all the difference (e.g. in my Tatooine map I didn't realize you couldn't replace cliff models so the insides of my ships look jagged). So I'm here asking a few questions.

1. Should I make the physics of my car game in the Data Editor or with Triggers? Here's what it requires:

- speed should depend on the z-axis (you go faster if you're going down hill)
- turns should be slow and respond to momentum, so rather than just turning around and going in the other direction, your vehicle will make a long arc turning slowly as it goes
- I want ground vehicles to be able to fly off of cliffs and fall down taking damage depending on the height fallen
- I want collision when two cars hit each other so that the car will spin if hit at an angle.
- I want a traction variable that is effected by snow, weight, and whether the car is turning or not