• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Problems: Normal map looks glossy and Geoset Visibility

Level 2
Hello Hive Community,

I'm new to modeling, especially with Retera’s Model Studio. Currently, I'm working on a bunch of Troggs. As the basis for the models, I used the Draenei Guardian. Unfortunately, I’m confronted with some problems which I just couldn't solve.

1. Problem: Normal Map

You can see the first and major problem in the screenshots I took. The first screenshot depicts the model in Retera’s Model Studio, where it works fine. In the map editor and in-game, it looks glossy – particularly those textures I messed around with.

Trogg in Retera.jpg

Troggs ingame.jpg

I guess it’s a problem with my normal map, which I had to change. I also suppose that it has something to do with the file, respectively the file size, as the models with a normal map in .tif format don't look as glossy as those with .dds format. On the other hand, pasting an existing normal map into the normal map file, saving it, and then using it as the normal map for the model didn't result in this glossy appearance.

While searching for the reason, I tested minor changes in the normal map of the human peasant. Essentially, I used the clone tool in GIMP and cloned the pixels to their original place – which should result in an identical looking peasant. While he looked fine in Retera’s Model Studio, he also looked glossy in-game.

Peasant_Normal Map Test.jpg